Inviting nominations to MESA’s 2019 Awards Competitions

Inviting nominations to the Middle East Studies Association’s (MESA) 2019 Awards Competitions



Albert Hourani Book Award

Nikki Keddie Book Award

Fatima Mernissi Book Award

Deadline: April 1, 2019

Nominations for the Albert Hourani Book Award, the Nikki Keddie Book Award, and the Fatima Mernissi Book Award are made simultaneously. Nominations can be made by either the publisher or the author. Books must be non-fiction scholarly monographs based on original research published in English between April 1, 2018 and March 31, 2019. The Albert Hourani Book Award recognizes a work that exemplifies scholarly excellence and clarity of presentation in the tradition of Albert Hourani. The Nikki Keddie Book Award focuses on exceptional scholarship in religion, revolution, and/or society. The Fatima Mernissi Book Award is given to the best work in studies of gender, sexuality, and women’s lived experience. The author of the Albert Hourani Book Award will receive $1000. The authors of the Nikki Keddie and Fatima Mernissi Book Awards will receive $500 each. In the event of co-winners, prize money will be divided evenly among the winners for that competition. For more information about nominating a book to the above competitions, see MESA Book Awards.


Roger Owen Book Award

Deadline: April 1, 2019

The Roger Owen Book Award recognizes the very best in economics, economic history, or the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa scholarship.  Works must be non-fiction scholarly monographs based on original research published in English (works translated from other languages into English will also be considered but will be judged by the same rigorous standards as those for works submitted in English) between April 1, 2017, and March 31, 2019. The author of the single winning book will receive $2000. For more information about submitting to the Owen Book Award, see the guidelines on MESA’s website.




Malcolm H. Kerr Dissertation Awards

Deadline: July 1, 2019

Students completing their dissertations between July 1, 2018 and June 30, 2019 may submit entries for the 2019 Malcolm H. Kerr Dissertation Awards. The competition is to recognize exceptional achievement in research and writing for/of dissertations in Middle East studies. MESA is particularly concerned that some of its awards have been shown to reflect a gender disparity. We would therefore like to encourage those making nominations to take gender diversity into consideration. The winner in each category (social sciences and humanities) is awarded $1000. Guidelines.


MESA Graduate Student Paper Prize

Deadline: August 31, 2019

Graduate student research papers on any aspect of post 600 CE Middle East studies are sought for this blind review. The winner is awarded $250.  Guidelines.




MESA Mentoring Award

Nomination deadline: June 1, 2019

The award recognizes exceptional contributions retired faculty have made to the education and training of others. Nomination guidelines.


Jere L. Bacharach Service Award

Nomination deadline: June 1, 2019

The award recognizes the contributions of individuals through their outstanding service to MESA or the profession. Service is defined broadly to include work in diverse areas, including but not limited to outreach, librarianship, and film. The winner is awarded $1000. Nomination guidelines.


MESA Undergraduate Education Award

Deadline: August 31, 2019

The award recognizes outstanding scholarship on teaching or other material contributions to undergraduate education in Middle East studies. The winner is awarded $250. Nomination guidelines.


Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at the 53rd MESA Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. As well, the results will be posted on MESA’s website, in MESA’s newsletter, and in other publications as deemed appropriate by MESA.