APPLY NOW: 2022 Bernard Lewis Prize!

Research Award for Members
2022 Bernard Lewis Prize

The 2022 Bernard Lewis Prize will be awarded to scholars or practitioners engaged in the
study of issues on antisemitism that were of great importance to our founding chairman,
Prof. Bernard Lewis. While Christian antisemitism is well‑studied, a stigma remains around
addressing antisemitism in the Muslim world. Beyond this, relatively few scholars focus on
the Middle Eastern dimensions of Christian antisemitism in religious and cultural terms,
much less the political impacts in the West.

The Bernard Lewis Prize will award work in the form of an article, book or book chapter and
either published or unpublished that addresses the aforementioned issues. Recipients of the
$2,500 prize will be announced and awarded at the Fifteenth Annual ASMEA Conference
on November 5–7, 2022 in Washington, D.C. Additionally, all finalists will present and
discuss their work during the Conference.

Applications must be received by June 30, 2022.
For more information and to apply,
please visit
Questions? Contact ASMEA at 202.429.8860

Sponsored by the Association for the Study of the Middle East and Africa (ASMEA)